FoodShelterClothing


Sprouts and Greens and Grass, oh my! by Carol
June 14, 2011, 6:55 pm
Filed under: by Carol, Food

If you are new to this blog, you may want to check out the About page to learn why it’s here in the first place.

Photo credit: Cecily

My kitchen counter is lined with microgreens, sunflower sprouts and wheatgrass. My refrigerator contains sprouted mung beans, a sprouted pea blend and a leafy sprout mix or two. My cupboards hold seeds for future sprouts of lentils, alfalfa, buckwheat lettuce and many other varieties. I LOVE SPROUTS. We eat a salad of locally (how much more local can you get than 6 inches?) grown greens nearly every day, in every season. They need minimal care, minimal light and you can start small and build your grow skills over time.

I started with a sprout jar which I inverted in a bowl. Worked real nice. A friend led a sprout workshop which I attended and this visual learning was a great nudge to the next level of sprouting. In addition to the jar, I added sprouts grown in dirt or other growth mediums such as coir. Wheatgrass, while not a sprout per se, was an easy tag along. There is nothing particularly difficult about growing any of these sprouts. It takes a little time and some planning ahead to stagger harvest but it gets easier with practice as with most things.

While I still do purchase the seeds and so do not have a closed loop food source as yet, it IS a food we grow ourselves to nurture our bodies (and souls). I am indebted to Sprout People not only for supplies (can you say Easy Sprouters?) but for a wealth of information delivered with a personality.

My next sprouting goal is to hold my own workshop for locally interested people. Oh yeah, and figure out how to save seeds.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It is interesting all the different types of sprouts that you can grow. Which kind are going to have the most flavor though?

Comment by Don

They all have different flavors and textures. Regular leafy sprouts (alfalfa are most familiar) are very mild in flavor and light in texture. Microgreens (arugula is a common one) has a bit more texture and a touch of bitterness which wakes up a salad or other food in a nice way. By far my favorite is the Sunflower green. These are grown in dirt and are sturdy and delicious. I often build my salads around sunflower greens as the base. Thanks for asking.😉

Comment by Carol

What is a sunflower green? Regular sunflowers or something special? How big are they when you pick them?

Comment by Don

It is a green grown from black oil sunflower seeds. Regular I guess though we use organic. They are about 5″ tall when you cut them. Its hard to see in the picture but they are the ones in the middle. We harvested a day or two later. 1 tray makes A LOT. They are more substantial than a typical sprout that you think of and less substantial then say a green bean.

Comment by Carol

Thank you for sharing your experience and enthusiasm. I have bought the juicer, and am currently soaking some wheat berries. Trying to use supplies I have hanging around the house for growing the first batch. If that doesn’t work out, I will be placing my order with the Sprout People!

Comment by Kathy

Awesome! Can’t wait to hear about your experiences. I’d recommend starting with no more than 2 oz/day.

Comment by Carol




Leave a Reply

